Discovering the Chakras

You’ve probably heard your yoga teacher talk about chakras before in class, maybe they’ve cued a pose to ‘open’ a chakra or the sequence is about tapping into a particular chakra.

Put simply, a chakra is an energy centre and a part of prana-maya kosha or your energetic body. Each chakra is located at a different part of the body and corresponds to a different area of your life.

Muladhara chakra

Your first chakra is the Root chakra. It is located at the base of your spine and represents our basic needs (food, money), stability and security. A clear muladhara chakra will have us feeling safe and without fear.

Svadhisthana chakra

The second chakra is the Sacral chakra. It is located in our lower abdomen, between your public bone and navel centre. Svadhisthana chakra represents our creativity, pleasure and sexuality. An open sacral chakra will invite abundance, connection and wellbeing.

Manipura chakra

The third chakra is the Solar Plexus chakra. Manipura chakra is located at our upper abdomen, between the navel centre and the breastbone. This chakra is a source of our own personal power. It represents self worth, self confidence and self esteem. A clear solar plexus chakra will fill us with power from within.

Anahata chakra

The fourth chakra is the Heart chakra, located in the centre of our chest. As the middle chakra it unites the three lower chakras with the three upper chakras. Our heart chakra is concerned with our ability to give and receive love. It represents joy and inner peace. It is a source of love and connection.

Vissudha chakra

The fifth chakra is the Throat chakra and represents communication. It is located at the throat and can affect our ability to express ourselves or speak our truth. When our throat chakra is clear we are able to say what we mean and do what we say, we are living authentically and our thoughts, words and actions are congruent.

Ajna chakra

The sixth chakra is the Third Eye chakra and is located in the middle of our forehead, between our eyes. Ajna chakra represents our ability to see clearly and focus. An open third eye chakra will allow us to see the big picture, hone our intuition and see beyond our emotions.

Sahasrara chakra

The seventh chakra is our Crown chakra. It can also be translated as the “thousand petal lotus” chakra. It is located just above our head and represents enlightenment and spiritual connection to our highest selves and our higher power. An open crown chakra invites divine wisdom, intelligence and original thought.

Are you interested in learning more about chakras?

Join Andrew Mournehis on May 27 for Chakra Theory – a two hour workshop where we will explore the layers (koshas) or sheaths of the physical, energetic, mental and bliss bodies and where the chakras system fits into this model.

  • When: Saturday 27th May
  • Time: 11.30am – 1.30pm
  • Cost: $40
  • To book call 07 5526 6600

You can also sign up for Andrew’s other workshops: Bhagavad Gita in a Nutshell and History of Yoga the same weekend.

About Andrew

Andrew graduated from the Phoenix Institute of Australia in 2001. Being an already established yoga teacher, he has spent the past 18 years facilitating many healing groups, workshops, intensives and retreats both nationally and internationally working with the healing potential of both Yoga and Transpersonal work.

Having practiced Tantra for our 20 years, Andrew unites his diverse background and experience with Transpersonal work, Mythology, Astrology, Dance and Yogic Philosophy to bring a rich and exciting view and perspective on spiritual practices.