What is a chakra?

Chakra is a Sanskrit word that translates to ‘wheel’ or ‘disk’. In yoga, we refer to chakras as spinning wheels of energy throughout the body. They don’t exist in a physical sense but are a part of our energetic body.

In yoga class, you may have heard your teacher talking about the energy or ‘prana’ which flows through us. This is our invisible life force and is the level that chakras exist upon.

While when you look at the physical (gross) body, you will not see the chakras, it’s crucial to remember we are more than our physicality. The subtle body, where the chakras reside, is just as important.

There are seven chakras, starting at the base of the spine all the way to the crown of the head. Each chakra is associated with a colour and also certain life qualities.

The seven chakras:

Sahasrara – Crown Chakra

This violet, white chakra exists at the top of the head, right above your crown. It extends infinitely upwards and connects you with the energy of the universe. Sahasrara is your link beyond the individual self, uniting you with the universal Self.

A balanced and energised crown chakra is something almost beyond the human experience. Of course, it is the journey to an awakened crown chakra that is going to bring us so much joy, happiness and wisdom.

Ajna – Third Eye Chakra

Ajna chakra is located at your third eye, between the brows, and is coloured indigo. This chakra is about opening your mind up to wisdom beyond the physical senses. Think extra-sensory perception and psychic energy!

A balanced third eye chakra means you feel equally in tune with both the physical world and the energetic or spiritual world.

An overactive third eye chakra may leave you feeling ungrounded, so balance yourself by connecting back to the physical world – spend time in nature, hug some trees or swim in the ocean.

However, it’s more likely that ajna chakra will be underactive. Energise Anja by spending time in meditation, focusing on signals outside of the senses.

Vishuddha – Throat Chakra

Vishuddha is located at the throat, and fittingly, is associated with speaking and living your personal truth. It is the chakra of connection and communication.

This blue chakra feels balanced when you’re able to speak truthfully and clearly from a place of love, kindness and wisdom. Your words with lift and inspire others.

Balancing your throat chakra may be as simple as thinking before you speak. Noticing what comes out of your mouth and assessing if it is true, necessary and kind.

Anahata – Heart Chakra

Your heart chakra is associated with the colour green, and as the name suggests, is placed near your heart – at the centre of your chest.

This is an uncomplicated chakra to understand, it is linked to LOVE! Love for yourself as well as others.

A balanced anahata chakra will allow you to feel ease in equally loving yourself and those around you. In balance, you will make healthy choices in the name of love.

To balance your heart chakra work on setting boundaries for yourself and making sure you send some of your love back at yourself.

While boundaries can be healthy, we also want to make sure you’re not building walls and defences. A healthy anahata chakra lets love in and out!

Manipura – Solar Plexus

Manipura chakra resides at your solar plexus, just below the chest. This is the chakra which is associated with self-confidence, identity, power and inner wisdom.

When this yellow tinted chakra is balanced, you will feel confident in your decisions and powerful in yourself.

Balance your solar plexus chakra by refocusing your power to assist those around you. Use your talents and abilities to help and empower others.

Svadhisthana – Sacral Chakra

The sacral chakra is associated with the colour orange and sits just below the navel. Svadhisthana is linked with pleasure, creative activities, good food and sacred sex.

A balanced sacral chakra will leave you feeling inspired and abundant and able to truly enjoy the pleasurable things in life – without overdoing it!

Balance your sacral chakra by focusing on healthy and nourishing pleasure, not the kind that leaves you feeling worse for wear in the long term.

Muladhara – Root Chakra

The Root chakra is associated with our base, survival needs. Think of physical, financial and emotional security. The role of this chakra is to connect us with the grounding energy of the earth.

This chakra is located at the base of your spine, and when it’s balanced, you will feel secure, safe and grounded.

Balance your root chakra by connecting back with the Earth. Try walking in nature, swimming or merely wiggling your toes in the grass.

Do you want to lean into these learnings more?

Join Michelle for Chakra Illumination on May 4.

Learn the ancient practice of unlocking and harmonising each chakra in a systematic sequence that you can then do at home each day as your spiritual practice. This method will not only change how you think and feel but will entirely transform your daily words and actions long after the practice has finished.

This class will include:
– Chakra Vinyasa Krama sequence
– Chakra meditation
– A handbook to take home as your guidebook to recreate the experience.

This 2.5-hour experience is only $39.

Book now to reserve your spot.